20 Organic Coconut Oil Benefits That May Help You

Coconut Oil Benefits:

  1. Dry skin moisturizer and acne solution: (I personally use this one because my every day make up remover turned my skin so dry that every day I have to use a moisturizer. After trying many lotions and creams I decided why don’t I try the coconut oil in my kitchen on my face since I’ve heard so many good things about coconut oil which is why I began using it in the first place. The very first time I put this on my face was after I showered and my face was already dry and flakey and I left it on all day. Late that night I took it off and my skin was incredibly soft and moisturized and even though I used a piece of toilet paper to take it off my skin did not flake. You could imagine my excitement! The second thing I realized was that the zits on my face that had been bright red were now a mute pink almost the same color of my skin. This was a MAJOR bonus for me. I will do this next time I am going to go out that way I won’t have to use as much concealer as before. Now, anytime that I take a shower I put coconut oil on my face right away and leave it on. I usually do this on days that I don’t have to go anywhere. I will leave an update after a month to let you guys know if it really works.)
  2. Dandruff control: Same concept as the dry skin moisturizer. Put it on for a day and make sure it’s on your scalp. Apply as often you need. Take off while washing your hair and use several rounds of shampoo.
  3. Hair growth: Apply this for a day and try not to add too much or it will be dripping off of your face. (I personally used this when I got my hair cut real short and I needed it to grow out for a photoshoot. I applied this for a month every other week unless if I could manage to every week. It really does work and it’ll make your hair strong. The only problem is that you have to keep applying it until your hair grows the length you want it to be. It also helps your hair incredibly if it is damaged (which mine was not).)
  4. Balance hormone levels: Remember when you started your period and you’d have hot flashes and mood swings. Organic coconut oil will help get rid of it as well as make menopause symptoms go away due to the natural lauric acid. Coconut oil in particular helps with estrogen levels. (I wish I had known this when my mom was going through menopause! But in general usually every person needs to increase their hormone levels anyways)
  5. Detox and anti-aging aid: Coconut oil increases your body’s antioxidant levels which causes this anti aging affect as well as detoxing your body. You would need a tablespoon full every day or apply it to the skin.
  6. Build muscle: Your body can actually gain muscle and loose weight if you take coconut or coconut oil because of the fatty acids in it and as long as you’re exercising you will be able to build muscle.
  7. Combat yeast infections and stops kidney infections: Lauric and Capric acid gets rid of yeast infections and as long as you stop in taking processed sugar and start taking a teaspoon of coconut oil three times a day then you’ll see major benefits. For kidney infections it kills bad bacteria and breaks down the lipid coating outside of bacteria cells, killing them in the process.
  8. Combats heart conditions and high blood pressure: Coconut oil has good cholesterol that fights against bad cholesterol in the body which brings your heart rate down to normal levels.
  9. Gets rid of inflammation: Raw coconut oil gets rid of and decreases inflammation in the body due to antioxidants in the oil.
  10. Boosts immune system
  11. Cooking. Duh. Haha. Especially with non stick or cast iron skillets. If you apply it to the skillet, rub it all over inside and turn your heat up high which will open the pores in the ceramic and then you very slowly let the skillet cool. This is called seasoning your skillet which will help when you use it next time for eggs or something else that seems to be sticking. Also use it in place of butter!
  12. Absorbs calcium and magnesium: It has been shown to increase the absorption of calcium and magnesium which are both a must have for the body.
  13. Rid Cellulite: When used on the skin consistently it can get rid of cellulite.
  14. Body butter/Balm: Whip with a shea butter to have a soothing balm but make sure both products are organic and USDA and non GMO approved.
  15. Makeup remover: Eye and makeup remover because of all the oil.
  16. Hand/Foot Scrub: Mix with equal parts sugar for a soothing sugar scrub for your hands, feet or face.
  17. Tanning oil: Use it as a tanning oil
  18. Shave Cream: Use it as a shave cream and after shave lotion. Remember you can always use a few drops of essential oils and mix the two for a scent.
  19. Nail growth: Rub on your nails to help them grow
  20. Pets: You can apply this to pets as well that have skin problems or irritation.

 

Different types of coconut oil:

Unrefined Organic Coconut Oil

This oil offers the most benefits with the above mentioned remedies. It is extracted from fresh coconut using a wet-milled fermentation process that protects the beneficial properties of the coconut.

Extra Virgin Oil

It’s produced by cold pressing which is how you extract olive oil but not a good way to extract coconut oil because it won’t keep the antioxidants.

Refined Coconut Oils
Refined coconut oil is harshly done by heating, bleaching and  deodorizing which gets rid of the smell and is tasteless.

Fractionated or MCT Oil

MCT oil is a liquid oil that doesn’t get solid below 76 degrees unlike unrefined oil. It doesn’t contain all of the beneficial properties of unrefined coconut oil but it does have more brain boosting fats.

Uses

If you would like to use coconut oil for external use you could use expeller pressed, fractionated or other types of refined oil. For internal uses you could an unrefined organic coconut oil.

Here’s a healthy coffee recipe (with butter!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of organic coffee, herbal tea or chia
  • 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon of organic grass-fed unsalted butter
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Put all ingredients into the blender or a food processor and blend.

Note: For the external use remedies I always used a jar of organic coconut oil that has solid coconut oil. When you put it in your hands it warms up quickly and turns to a liquid.

 

Leave a Reply

